Digital Marketing Terms Explained
Many of our small to medium-sized business clients feel a little overwhelmed by marketing, especially understanding what all the jargon means. At Colette Chorley Copywriting and Marketing, we love to keep things simple and easy, so we’ve listed some of the frequently asked questions about marketing terms and given a quick explanation of what they mean.
We’ll never bombard you with Jargon and we’ll talk you through everything we so do so you’ll always know what we are doing and why. Copywriting and marketing is in our DNA so let us put our extensive experience to work for your business.
What Is Copywriting?
Copywriting is the words that are written to fill the pages of your website, brochures, blogs, adverts and any other marketing communications. Copywriting is a critical part of marketing strategy, as what you say and how you say it, can dramatically affect how a person engages and emotionally connects with your business. How the words on your website are written and structured can also significantly impact your ability to be found in online searches (SEO).
What Are Keywords?
Keywords are the words or phrases that people type into Google when searching for something eg. cleaner Adelaide, cleaning services, house cleaning etc. Keywords are important because if you know what words people use when searching, your website can be structured around these keywords to help your business get found online.
What Is SEO?
SEO – Search Engine Optimisation is all about structuring your website and content to make it easy for search engines to find and list your business in search results. SEO consists of many different elements and is a critical part of your online visibility. The better your SEO the more likely it is that your website will automatically be listed at the top end of the search results.
What Does Ranking Mean?
Ranking is the position your website is shown in the listings following an internet search. The higher your position the better, as this will drive traffic (people) to your website. Ranking in the top 1-3 search results is quite hard to achieve, which is why many people use paid advertising like Google AdWords to get their website listed at the top of the search results.
What Is Organic Ranking?
Organic ranking refers to any SEO (search engine optimisation) strategy that helps get your website listed high up in the search results without paying the search engine a fee. How your website and its content is structured and linked to other websites/digital media can dramatically affect your online visibility.
What Are URL's & Domain Names?
A URL is your address on the internet e.g. https://greatcontent.com.au/ and is where people go to view your website or landing page. The actual address of your business – greatcontent.com, greatcontent.com.au, greatcontent.net etc is called a domain name. Your domain name is unique to you and once you have registered it, nobody else can use it providing you continue to renew your registration.
What Is Website Hosting?
When you want to build a website, you will need a hosting service. A hosting service is a business that rents you space on the internet. The hosting service has an internet server which is basically a big computer where all your website data and files will be held so other internet users can see and access your website.
What Are Meta Titles & Meta Descriptions?
When you type a search term in google it gives you a list of results. The results given have a blue heading which is the meta title and a short description underneath which is the meta description. Both meta title and meta description are used by search engines and help with your ranking.
Any words (keywords) that match the words entered in the search engine are highlighted in bold on the meta description so users can quickly see if the page is relevant to them. The meta description is a critical part of your website as this is the first piece of information that potential clients will read about your business. Having a good meta description can increase the number of people who click through and visit your website.
What Does Above The Fold Mean?
“Above The Fold” refers to the part of a web page or email that is visible without having to scroll downwards. What is written ‘above the fold’ can directly impact user engagement, so it is important to have attention-grabbing headlines, content or images to encourage the user to read on and find out more.
What Is A Click Through?
Click through is the number of people who click on a link to visit your website. Links are often shown in search engine results, social media posts, blogs and online advertising.
What Is A CTR?
CTR stands for Click Through Rate and is a term used in online advertising. It measures the number of people who were shown your link and the number of people who actually went on to click that link and visit your webpage.
CTR is the calculcaulted by dividing the number of people who clicked on your link by the total number of people who saw your link. CTR is always expressed as a percentage. So, if 1000 people were shown your link and 100 people clicked on the link to find out more your CTR is 10%. (100/1000 = 0.1 x 100 (x100 to convert to a percentage figure) = 10%
The higher the CTR the better the result, as this indicates your advertising was successful in driving traffic (visitors) to your web page.
What Does Traffic Mean In Marketing?
Traffic is the number of people who visit your webpage. Understanding where your traffic is coming from is a critical part of digital marketing strategy. For example, if the majority of your website visitors come from Facebook rather than Google it may be time to see what strategies can help you get traffic from Google searches.
A breakdown of where your visitors (traffic) is coming from can be found by using online analytics tools such as Google Analytics. Facebook and other social media platforms will also provide analytical data when you use their platform for advertising.
What Is CPC?
Cost per click is an advertising term. It looks at how much you spent on advertising and how many people clicked through to your web page as a result of that advertising. By dividing the total ad spend by the total number of clicks you get a cost per click for that ad campaign. The lower the cost per click the better as you can reach more people with less advertising spend.
What Do Conversion Rates Mean?
A conversion is when a visitor to your website performs a desired action such as downloading a PDF, signing up for a worksheet or making a purchase etc. Conversion rates help measure the success of your online marketing campaign and the higher the conversion rate the better your return on advertising spend.
Conversion rate is the percentage of people who visited your website and then performed the desired conversion action. For example, if 1000 people visited your website and 100 of those people signed up for your newsletter, your conversion rate is 100 /1000 = 10%.